About CFNZ



Cystic Fibrosis New Zealand

Cystic Fibrosis New Zealand supports people with CF and their families by increasing awareness of the condition, education, advocacy, helping fund research and providing social and financial support.

Cystic Fibrosis New Zealand has offices in Auckland and Christchurch.  Currently working from the Auckland office are the chief executive, administration manager, grants and events coordinator, national information co-ordinator, North Island field worker and the Auckland branch co-ordinator.  The South Island field worker works from the Christchurch office.  There are twelve branches throughout New Zealand made up of volunteers, who provide local support for people with CF and their families. Support may include: experience and information sharing, social functions and fundraising for financial support.

The mission of Cystic Fibrosis New Zealand is to optimise the quality of life for people with cystic fibrosis and their families, striving for normal life expectancy and a cure.

The vision of Cystic Fibrosis New Zealand is that Cystic Fibrosis does not compromise the length and quality of life.

Regional Network

CFNZ has 12 active regional branches staffed predominantly by volunteers.  These branches care for more than 450 people and their families, living with CF in New Zealand.  Branches vary in size both geographically and in membership, and because of this, there is some variation in the types of support they offer.  However, all branches offer the following:

  • emotional support
  • financial support
  • assistance with equipment – purchase, service and maintenance
  • access to learning opportunities, workshops and the national CF Conference
  • peer support from other parents and people with CF.

We have 12 branches covering all areas of New Zealand:

Northland – Cape Reinga to Wellsford
Auckland – Warkworth to Pokeno
Waikato – Pokeno to Tokoroa
Bay of Plenty – Thames to Opotiki
Taranaki – New Plymouth to Hawera
Hawkes Bay – Gisborne to Dannevirke
Central Districts – Wanganui to Otaki
Wellington – Waikanane to Wellington
Nelson Marlborough – Tasman to Blenheim
Canterbury – Kaikoura to Waitaki, including Buller & Westland
Otago – Oamaru to Milton
Southland – Milton to Bluff, including Southern Lakes & Stewart Island